Department of Differential Equations (DR), FMF

The first Head of Department of Mathematics was a visiting professor, Corresponding Member of the Academy of Sciences VP Ermakov (1845-1922), who previously served as professor of Kiev University. He taught mathematics in engineering and mechanical departments of the Institute.
In the spring of 1952 Department of Mathematics was divided into two: the department of mathematical physics NP headed by prof. OS Smohorzhevskym and Department of Mathematics, headed by prof. VA Zmorovychem.
In September 2000 the Department of Mathematics number 2 was renamed the department of differential equations.